Tuesday, February 26, 2013

Railway Budget 2013: Bansal announces new lines

Railway Budget 2013: Bansal announces new lines

NEW DELHI: Indian Railways will take up a number of new projects in 2013-14, Railway Minister Pawan Kumar Bansal announced in his maiden Railway Budget.

The new lines announced by him were:

1. Bhupdeopur-Raigarh (Mand Colliery) (through PPP);
2. Gevra Road-Pendra Road (through PPP)
3. Jaisalmer (Thiyat Hamira)-Sanu;
4. Karaikal-Peralam;
5. Rewari-Rohtak new line extension up to Makrauli;
6. Sultanpur to Kadipur;
7. Thanjavur-Pattukkottai

"I have been receiving representations from Hon'ble Members, State Governments and other public representatives in large numbers for construction of new lines, gauge conversion, doubling, and electrification and also for surveys. I have been pondering over them for the last one month. They are all genuine and reflect the growing need and demand of the most preferred mode of transport of the people in the country," he said.

Bansal proposed to take up 22 projects of new lines and one gauge conversion project. These include Ajmer-Kota (Nasirabad-Jalindri), Anandnagar-Ghugli via Maharajganj, Barwadih-Chirmiri, Delhi-Sohna-Nuh-Firozpur Jhirka-Alwar, Dimapur - Tizit and Pushkar-Merta.

No comments:

Post a Comment