Wednesday, August 22, 2012

South Eastern Railway zone

The South Eastern Railway (SER) is one of the sixteen railway zones in India. It is headquartered at Garden Reach, Kolkata. It comprises four divisions:
  1. Adra Railway Division
  2. Chakradharpur Railway Division
  3. Kharagpur Railway Division
  4. Ranchi Railway Division
Ranchi Railway Division

The Bengal Nagpur Railway

The Bengal Nagpur Railway (BNR) Company was incorporated in 1887 to take over from the Nagpur Chattisgarh Railway and to convert the line to Broad Gauge. The work was completed in 1888. The extension of the main line from Nagpur to Asansol was completed by 1891. A 161 mile long branch line (258 km) which connected Bilaspur to Umaria coal mine was built and linked to the existing line from Umaria to Katni (1891). By the turn of the twentieth century work on the Calcutta-Bombay and Calcutta-Madras lines were completed.

No comments:

Post a Comment