Saturday, August 25, 2012

South Western Railway zone

The South Western Railway is one of the 16 railway zones in India. It is headquartered at Hubli and comprises Bangalore, Mysore divisions of the erstwhile Southern Railway and the reorganized Hubli division of the erstwhile South Central Railway which includes Hospet and Bellary.

Hubli Railway Station
 The division came into existence on April 1, 2003. Important trains operated by this zone are : Karnataka Express (Bangalore–New Delhi), Rani Chennamma Express (Bangalore–Kolhapur), Gol Gumbaz Express (Bangalore–Solapur), Basava Express (Bangalore–Gulbarga–Bagalkot), Jan Shatabdi Express (Bangalore–Hubli), Siddaganga Intercity Express (Bangalore–Dharwad), Udyan Express (Bangalore–Mumbai), Karnataka Sampark Kranti Express (Bangalore–New Delhi), Hampi Express (Bangalore–Hubli), Bangalore –Chennai Mail, Lalbagh Express (Bangalore–Chennai), Shatabdi Express (Bangalore–Chennai), Tippu Express (Bangalore–Mysore), Rajya Rani Express (Mysore–Bangalore) and the Vasco Da Gama–Hazrat Nizammudin Delhi Goa Express.

Mysore Railway Station

Area Covered:
South Western Railway covers most of the railway lines in the state of Karnataka.Belgaum–Bagalkote-Raichur, Belgaum-Dharwad, Belgaum-Sawantwadi, Bagalkote–Kudachi, Kottur–Harihar, Kadur–Chikmagalur–Sakleshpur, Munirabad–Mehboobnagar, Tumkur–Chitradurga–Davangere, Shimoga–Harihar and Tumkur–Rayadurg lines are commissioned.

No comments:

Post a Comment