Tuesday, August 21, 2012

Northern Railway zone

The Northern Railways is one of the 16 zones and the northernmost zone of the Indian Railways. Its headquarters is in Delhi at New Delhi Railway Station.

New Delhi Railway Station
 Northern Railways is one of nine old zones of Indian Railways and also the biggest in terms of network having 6807 kilometre route. It covers the states of Jammu and Kashmir, Punjab, Haryana, Himachal Pradesh, Uttarakhand and Uttar Pradesh and the Union territories of Delhi and Chandigarh.
The railway zone was created on 14 April 1952 by merging Jodhpur Railway, Bikaner Railway, Eastern Punjab Railway and three divisions of the East Indian Railway north-west of Mughalsarai (Uttar Pradesh). It includes the first passenger railway line in North India, which opened from Allahabad and Kanpur on March 3, 1859. The Zonal Headquarters Office of Northern Railways is at Baroda House, New Delhi, and divisional headquarters are located at Ambala (Haryana), Delhi, Firozpur (Punjab), Lucknow (Uttar Pradesh) and Moradabad (Uttar Pradesh).

Notable trains

Luxury trains

Rajdhani Express, Shatabdi Express, Palace on Wheels, Mahaparinirvana Express

Rajdhani Express
 Shatabdi Express
Bhopal Delhi Shatabdi Express
  Palace on Wheels
Palace on Wheels
 For more information about Palace on wheels visit:

Passenger trains

Himsagar Express, New Delhi–Jabalpur Express, Prayagraj Express, Kashi Vishwanath Express,Bareilly–New Delhi Intercity Express, Shan-e-Punjab Superfast Exp, New Delhi–Amritsar Superfast Exp., Jammu Mail.

No comments:

Post a Comment