Wednesday, August 22, 2012

South Central Railway zone

The South Central Railway  is one of the 16 railway zones in India. It is headquartered at Secunderabad and has the following divisions:
  1. Secunderabad
  2. Hyderabad
  3. Guntakal (including Bellary-Guntakal (MG))
  4. Vijayawada
  5. Guntur
  6. Nanded
It covers the geographical area consists of Andhra Pradesh ,Karnataka,Maharashtra and a very small section in Madhya Pradesh.


Since its inception, SC Railway laid 342.805 Rkm of new lines, converted 2676.19 Rkm from MG to BG and carried out a doubling of track on 1272.453 Rkm, constructed many major river bridges including the engineering marvels II Godavari Bridge and III Godavari Bridges at Rajahmundry.
Towards customer satisfaction, it had established the Computerized Passenger Reservation Systems at 85 Stations/locations and offer reservations for any train from any station in the Country. For gaining efficiency in freight operations, SCR established Freight Operations Information System (FOIS) in its jurisdiction and has already introduced Rack Management Systems at 23 Stations and Terminal Management System at 31 stations.
The Vijayawada Junction is the busiest station of SCR
 Its Passenger and Freight performance has met with stupendous leaps forward. The freight loading which was only 9.00 million tons in the year of its inception, 1966, has seen a quantum jump and touched 44.79 Million tons in the financial year 2003–2004. Passenger transport too has met with tremendous growth, touching 195.65 million in 2003–2004 as against 50 millions in the year of inception and the gross earning from Rs. 58.00 Cr. to 3683.00 Cr in the fiscal year 2003–2004.

List of Trains route Secundrabad:

Rajkot Express at Pune Junction

  • Amaravati Express
  • Andhra Pradesh Express
  • Andhra Pradesh Sampark Kranti Express
  • Devagiri Express
  • East Coast Express (India)
  • Falaknuma Express
  • Godavari Express
  • Goutami Express
  • Guntur Railway Division
  • Hussainsagar Express
  • Hyderabad Mumbai Express
  • Janmabhoomi Express
  • Rajdhani Express – Secunderabad
  • Rajkot Secunderabad Express
  • Sabari Express
  • Secundrabad Express
  • Simhapuri Express
  • Trains of South Central Railway (India)

No comments:

Post a Comment