Sunday, August 26, 2012

Other subsidiaries

There also exist independent organizations under the control of the Railway Board for electrification, modernization, research and design and training of officers, each of which is headed by an officer of the rank of General Manager. A number of Public Sector Undertakings, which perform railway-related functions ranging from consultancy to ticketing, are also under the administrative control of the Ministry of railways.
There are eleven public undertakings under the administrative control of the Ministry of Railways, viz.
  • Bharat Wagon and Engineering Co. Ltd. (BWEL)
  • Centre for Railway Information Systems (CRIS)
  • Container Corporation of India Limited (CONCOR)
  • Dedicated Freight Corridor Corporation of India Limited (DFCCIL)
  • Indian Railway Catering and Tourism Corporation Limited (IRCTC)
  • Indian Railway Construction (IRCON) International Limited
  • Indian Railway Finance Corporation Limited (IRFC)
  • Konkan Railway Corporation Limited (KRCL)
  • Mumbai Railway Vikas Corporation (MRVC)
  • Railtel Corporation of India Limited (Rail Tel)
  • Rail India Technical and Economic Services Limited (RITES)
  • Rail Vikas Nigam Limited (RVNL)
Delhi Metro Rail Corporation Limited (DMRC), that has constructed and operates Delhi Metro network, is an independent organisation not connected to the Indian Railways. Similar metro rail corporations in other ciities (except Calcutta) are not connected to the Indian Railways.

No comments:

Post a Comment