Saturday, August 25, 2012

Southern Railway zone

Southern Railway has its headquarters in Chennai Central and has the following six divisions: Chennai, Madurai, Tiruchirappalli, Salem, Palakkad, and Thiruvananthapuram. It covers the states of Tamil Nadu, Kerala, Pondicherry and small portions of Andhra Pradesh and Karnataka. More than 500 million passengers travel on the network every year. This zone of the Indian Railways is different from the other zones of India as its revenue is derived from passengers and not from freight.

Chennai Central Station
 Chennai Central, Madurai Junction, Tiruchirappalli Junction, Coimbatore Junction and Thiruvananthapuram Central are the most important stations and also the most profitable stations under Southern Railway Division. The most profitable route comprises Chennai Central - Arakkonam - Katpadi Junction (Vellore) -Jolarpet Junction - Salem Junction - Erode Junction - Coimbatore Junction- Thrissur - Ernakulam Junction - Trivandrum Central, Chennai Egmore - Viluppuram - Tiruchirappalli - Dindigul- Madurai Junction - Tirunelveli - Nagercoil - Trivandrum Central, Mangalore Central - Calicut - Shornur Junction.
Coimbatore Junction

No comments:

Post a Comment