Saturday, August 25, 2012

Western Railway zone

The Western Railway is one of the 17 zones of Indian Railways, and is among the busiest railway networks in India. The major railway routes of Indian Railways which come under Western Railways are: Ratlam - Mumbai Central, Surat - Mumbai, Surat - Ahmedabad, Ahmedabad - Vadodara and Palanpur - Ahmedabad.
Mumbai Central Station
 The railway system is divided into six operating divisions: Vadodara, Ahmedabad, Rajkot, Bhavnagar, Ratlam and Mumbai.Ratlam has emerged as the growing division for western railways.


Western Railway headquarters in Mumbai's Churchgate station and serves the entire state of Gujarat, some portions of Western Madhya Pradesh, and coastal Maharashtra.

Bandra Terminus Station
The Western coast of India served by Western Railway has a number of ports, most important among them being Kandla, Hajira, Surat, Okha, Porbandar, Bhavnagar in Gujarat state and Mumbai in Maharashtra. Electric Multiple Units (EMUs) ply between Churchgate and Virar (64 km) and is projected to extend the service till Dahanu Road, while Mainline Electrical Multiple Units (MEMUs) service the section beyond Virar till Dahanu Road (60 km). EMUs are of 9 car, 12 car or 15 car rakes and are differentiated as slow and fast locals. Slow trains halt at all stations, while fast ones halt at important stations only and are preferable over longer distances. The first electric train on this section was introduced in 1928 between Churchgate and Borivali.
The gauge-wise kilometrage of Western Railways at present, is as under:
Gauge Length
Broad Gauge 4,305 km
Metre Gauge 4,838 km
Narrow Gauge 877 km
Total 10,020 km

No comments:

Post a Comment