Saturday, September 8, 2012

Superfast/Mail Trains in India

Superfast Mail/Express trains are faster Express rail service of India with Superfast charge levied over Mail/Express charges. Superfast trains make small number of stops, unlike Mail/Express and hence cover the same distance in marginally lower time span, as compared to their counterparts (regular mail/express). Currently some 450 pairs of Superfast run in Indian Railway.

The 12155/12156 Habibganj(Bhopal) - Hazrat Nizamuddin(Delhi) Shan - E - Bhopal Express is the fastest non-shatabdi, non-rajdhani Mail/Express train of India. In some cases, trains run Superfast where there is overlapping Mail/Express Train service available, and run Regular Mail/Express where there is no supplemental Mail/Express service. Trains with Average Speed equaling or exceeding 55 kilometres per hour (34 mph) in up and down direction falls under Superfast Category and is number with 2 prefixed


Regular Superfast

These Superfast has been Superfast since their inauguration and hasn't been deteriorated till now. These Superfast do maintain average speed throughout their route and often have best Rake/Loco Combination. Some are,

Jaipur Superfast Express
  1. Bhopal Express/ Indore - Jaipur Superfast/Upasana Express/Chambal Express/ Mahakoshal Express/ Indore - Nagpur Express/ Indore - Mumbai Central Express/ Bhopal - Rewa Rewanchal Express/ Jabalpur - New Delhi Shridham Express/ Jabalpur - Jaipur Dayodaya Express
  1. Jaipur Superfast Express / Tamil Nadu Express/Swaraj Express/Vaishali Express/Prayagraj Express/Andhra Pradesh Express/Samata express/Rajendranagar Express
  2. Kerala Express/Karnataka Express/Trivandrum-Chennai Mail/ Trivandrum-Chennai Superfast/Trivandrum-Gorakhpur Rapti Sagar Super Fast/Mangala Lakshadweep Express/Bhopal Express
  3. Coromandal Express/Kalka Mail /Poorva Express/Jnaneshwari Express/Gitanjali Express/Falaknuma Express

Non-Stop Superfast

These Superfast express are not DURONTO Express but have no intermediate commercial stoppage and serve as non-stop connection between source to destination station like that in case of Duronto express.
There are three of this type,
  1. Indore - Bhopal Non-Stop Express between Indore Junction and Bhopal Junction
  2. Shram Shakti Express runs between Kanpur Central and New Delhi : No Technical or Commercial Stoppage
Shram Shakti Express
  1. Sampoorna Kranti Express runs between Patna and New Delhi : 2 Technical Stoppage (Mughalsarai and Kanpur Central

Intercity Superfast

These superfast connects two major nearby cities serving for regular office goers and MST Ticket holders. These act as long-distance reserved suburban trains with sitting accommodation.
Flying Rani Express
 These are quite fast and holds high Average Speed for short distance along with priority over other trains. Some famous Intercity Superfast are,

Karnavati Express
  1. Indore - Hazrat Nizamuddin Intercity Express/ Indore - Bhopal Intercity Express/ Indore - Gwalior Intercity Express/ Indore - Jabalpur Intercity Express/ Indore - Rewa Intercity Express/ Bhopal - Indore Intercity Express/ Bhopal - Gwalior Intercity Express/ Bhopal - Jabalpur Intercity Express/ Bhopal - Damoh Intercity Express/ Jabalpur - Rewa Intercity Express
  2. Deccan Queen Express/Flying Rani Express/Panchvati Express
  3. Gomti Express/Taj Express/Shan-e-Punjab Express/Indrayani Express/Indore Express / Indore - Jodhpur Intercity Express
  4. Tamralipta Express/Lal Bagh Express/Brindavan Express/Karnavati Express
  5. Pinakini Express/Kovai Express/Pragati Express/
  6. Jaipur Indore SF Express/Ranthambore Express/Coimbatore-Mangalore Intercity Superfast Express

Upgraded Superfast

These Superfast were Regular Mail/Express when inaugurated but has been upgraded into Superfast Category with time maintenance of 55 km/h (34 mph). Most Overnight Express comes under this class. Some are,
  1. Chennai Mail
  2. Charminar Express
  3. Lucknow Mail
  4. Kaifiyat Express
  5. Navjivan Express
  6. Pushpak Express
  7. Malwa Express
  8. Mahakaushal Express
  9. Dakshin Express
  10. Secunderabad Patna Express
  11. Agniveena Express
  12. Coalfield Express
  13. Shantiniketan Express
  14. Dhauli Express

Retained Superfast

These Superfast were Superfast when inaugurated but were degraded to Regular Mail/Express category, but recently the Superfast Tag has been retained by speeding-up these trains. Some are,
  1. Punjab Mail
  2. Himgiri Express

Mixed Superfast

These Superfast serve as regular Mail/Express/Passenger/Fast Passenger service near tail of their route. This result in drastic decrease in overall Average Speed of these Superfast. Some are,
  1. Shramjeevi express, Magadh Express, Vikramshila Express: Acts as Passenger between Patna and Rajgir, Islampur, Bhagalpur respectively
  2. Punjab Mail: Acts as regular Mail/Express Service between Mumbai and Firozpur
  3. Sapt Kranti Express: Acta as Fast Passenger Service between Gorakhpur and Muzaffarpur


  • Berth:
  1. AC First Class (1A): Lockable Cabin - Coupe (for 2) and Compartment (for 4)
  2. Non-AC First Class (FC): Lockable Cabin - Coupe (for 2) and Compartment (for 4)
  3. AC II Tier (2A): Non Cabin - Compartment (for 4) and Bay (for 2)
  4. AC III Tier (3A): Non Cabin - Compartment (for 6) and Bay (for 2)
  5. III Tier Sleeper (SL): Non Cabin - Compartment (for 6) and Bay (for 2)
  6. Unreserved
  • Sitting:
  1. AC First Class (1ACC): Sitting Push-back Chairs (2×2)
  2. Non-AC First Class (FC): Sitting Push-back Chairs (2×2)
  3. AC Chair Car (CC): Sitting Push-back Chairs (3×2)
  4. Reserved II Sitting (2S): Sitting Non-Push-back Chairs (3×3)
  5. Unreserved II Sitting

No comments:

Post a Comment